The Kiwanis club of Steilacoom was first conceived in 1993 to meet the goals of community service and outreach. MG John Hemphill, USA Ret, Wolf Fletter, Terry Hulin, Dick Muri, John Inselman, and others realized that our community did not have a community service organization and researched to find which one would most fulfill the needs of the citizens of Steilacoom.

Because of its vibrant community service programs, especially those targeted directly toward the future of our community and children, Kiwanis was selected as the organization that would best meet the needs of the community.

Early in 1993 the first exploratory meetings were held and after much hard work the charter was presented in late 1993.

Thanks to the generosity of charter member Rosa Kreger, for many years the meetings were held at The Bair Drug and Hardware on Lafayette -- in old town Steilacoom. From 2002 - 2010 our regular meetings were held in the Steilacoom High School library; in part to facilitate the participation of teachers, school officials, and our Key Club members. In the fall of 2010 we moved our weekly meetings to the Old Pioneer Middle School.

Our club has been blessed with many fine members and officers over the years and we take pride in the fact that everyone has been willing to take their turn in leadership roles. This is a testament to the commitment to service our members display.


Charter Members
Harold Archibald
Lois Birt
David Bolesh
Marcia Bolesh
Michael Campbell
William "Mike" Dunsmore
Wolfgang "Wolf" Fletter
Daniel "Dan" French
Patricia "Pat" Gilbert
Mal Greene
Terry Hulin
John J. Inselman
John Jewell
Rosa Kreger
Loren Gilbert
John Hemphill
Edgar "Ed" Larson
Stephen M. "Steve" Lenzi
Kathy Lykken
Michael P. "Mike" Maddox
Veva Maddox
Norb "Ski" Matelski
Patrick G. "Pat" Moon
Richard W. "Dick" Muri
Robert J."Bob" Neilan
James R. "Jay" Randall
James R. "Jim" Richards
Carole Tinsley
Debbie Willis
Steve Wilson


Past Presidents
Charter President 1993-94
John Jewell
1994-1995     Terry Hulin

1995-1996     Jeff Lincoln

1996-1997     Vicky Lincoln

1997-1998     Dave Hopkins

1998-1999     Ski Matelski

1999-2000    Art Himmler

2000-2001    John Inselman

2001-2002    Duane Hardesty

2002-2003    Dick Muri

2003-2004    Shelly Shellabarger

2004-2005  David Langford

2005-2006  Homer Dodge

2006-2007    Bob Mize

2007-2008    Ron Lucas

2008-2010    Mark Pires

2010-2011    Fred Crumley

2011-2013    Harley Moberg

2013-2014    Jeff Bryan

2014-2017    Nancy Henderson

2017-2018    Mark Haskins

2018-2019    Ken Farmer

2019-2020    Ron Krogh

2020-2021 Connie Kirkpatrick

2021-2022 Pete Franklin


Current President
Connie Kirkpatrick